Delegation of U.S. Congressional Representatives visited Quito and met with President Lasso

The delegation of eight representatives, two Democrats and six Republicans, also met with other members of the Ecuadorian government to discuss bilateral trade.

Quito, March 16, 2023.  A bipartisan delegation of eight U.S. Representatives from the U.S. House of Representatives Ways and Means Committee, led by Representative Jason Smith (Republican-Missouri), visited Quito. The delegation also included Terri Sewell (D-Alabama), Jimmy Panetta (D-California), Beth Van Duyne (R-Texas), Carol Miller (R-West Virginia), Michelle Fischbach (R-Minnesota), Mike Carey (R-Ohio), and Kelly Armstrong (R-North Dakota).

The delegation met yesterday with President Lasso and Foreign Minister Juan Carlos Holguin, the Minister of Production Julio José Prado and Vice Minister of Production Daniel Legarda, Minister of Defence Luis Lara, Government Minister Henry Cucalón, the Minister of Telecommunications Vianna Maino, the Ambassador of Ecuador to the United States Ivonne Baki, the Presidential Advisor on Investment and Public-Private Partnerships Roberto Salas, and with the Secretary General of Public Administration Sebastián Corral, to discuss bilateral trade.