Visa categories

The purpose of your intended travel and other facts will determine what type of visa is required under U.S. law. This site will help you understand the different types of non-immigrant visas and how you can apply. As a visa applicant, you will need to establish that you meet all requirements to receive the category of visa for which you are applying.

  • Valid Passport (it has to have at least 6 months remaining validity)
  • The printed DS-160 application confirmation page
  • One recent (whithin the past six months) 50 mm x 50 mm (2″ x 2″) photograph with a white background and no shadows.

Some types of visas have additional required documentation. Please select the visa type below to review if your visa type requires additional required documentation.

Optional documentation can vary depending on the applicant’s personal situation. Presentation of these documents does not guarantee visa issuance, and the documents may or may not be reviewed during your interview. Be prepared to explain to the officer and present evidence regarding why you are going to the United States and why you will return to Ecuador.

  1. Passports containing all previous U.S. visas, even if expired
  2. Proof of finances (bank statements, tax documents)
  3. Proof of employment (pay slips, company credential, letter from human resources department)
  4. Proof of education (university diploma)

The following are the most common non-immigrant visa categories:

  • Business & Tourism (B1/B2)
  • Transit (C)
  • Crew Members (C1/D)
  • Student Visas (F and M)
  • Exchange Visas (J)
  • Petition-Based Employment (H, L, O, P, Q)
  • Religious Workers (R)
  • Domestic Employees (B-1)
  • Diplomats and Officials (A and G)
  • Investors (E-2)
  • Media and Journalists (I)
  • Victims of Human Trafficking (T) and Victims of Criminal Activity (U)

For information about other visa categories, see this Directory of Visa Categories.